Uncategorized

Welcome to Mad Man on a Great Lake

I can’t believe I’m doing this, but here is my first post of my first blog.

What did I call it MAD MAN ON A GREAT LAKE?  True, while I’m a fan of MAD MEN (and MAD MAGAZINE for that matter) this not a fan page nor am I in advertising.  While more than one person said I’ve bee ‘crazy’ in my life, I’m not certifiably insane.  True, I can get get angry at what I see going on around me, but to be a serious writer one must see both sides of a situation right?

Perhaps instead of mad, I should be saying FRUSTRATED, but it doesn’t look good in a blog title you want people to notice.  Why do I say frustrated?  Well, Northeast Ohio, and particularly the city of Cleveland, on the South Shore of Lake Erie, has so much to offer and yet, at least until recently, falls short on so many levels.  This was once one of the top five largest cities in the country, the birthplace of J.D. Rockefeller’s Standard Oil Company, home of the second oldest shopping centers in the nation (Shaker Square), the home of the world re-known Cleveland Orchestra, the Museum of Art, the Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame, and other facts many already know. True, we’ve landed the Republican Convention and LeBron James is coming back home, and the national media is starting to finally get away from the ‘Mistake on the Lake’ persona we’ve been branded since the late 60’s.  However, beneath the Cool Cleveland/Positively Cleveland pep talks, other things can be looked at.

Over the past few years, I have written on a freelance basis a few articles that looked at, among other things, the Youngstown Business Incubator(YBI), what’s happening on Penn Avenue in Pittsburgh, and back here the sad fate of the District of Design Initiative because, not only did they interest me, but in the case of the first two, perhaps Cleveland can learn from these projects and apply this knowledge to make it better.  What is being done along Penn I can see reflected on Waterloo Rd in Collinwood.  As for the YBI, its’ phenomenal success creating jobs should be looked at more closely here on the North Coast.

I don’t know where this blog will take me, or you the reader.  It may change overtime, or just stop in a few weeks.  On the other hand, it might be running for a long, long, time.  You will be the judge.

Standard

Leave a Reply

