Uncategorized

Friday Night Musings.

If you ever look at Paul Krugman’s blog every Friday, he has as his post footage of a live concert. In that spirit, I post this link via Youtube Deserted Cities of the Heart, the classic song by Cream, which is rather fitting for what I drove early this morning to attend.

They say that the definition of madness is doing the same thing over and over again expecting the same results. I must be crazy because I went to my first APA Ohio Planning and Zoning Workshop for the first time in four years, and all the way in Youngstown Ohio to boot.  “You’re a real sucker for punishment,” a lawyer I know told me yesterday at work when I showed him the brochure for the event.  In my head, I knew he was right and yet…

NE Ohio Planning and Zoning Workshop held at the YWCA in Youngstown, Ohio today.   Photo by James Valentino/

NE Ohio Planning and Zoning Workshop held at the YWCA in Youngstown, Ohio today. Photo by James Valentino.

It still boggles my mind that, in career matters, I’m getting more play from a technical writing certificate that I earned a few years ago than with my basically worthless Master’s Degree in Urban Planning, Design, and Development.  There was a time when I wanted to make a significant contribution towards making Cleveland Ohio a Rust Belt success story. It just didn’t happen.  Despite all this, I continue to be fascinated by community and economic development and how they can benefit this region.  Well, I took plenty of notes and soon readers of this blog will find out what happened in the YWCA building in downtown Youngstown today.

0605085918

Photo by James Valentino.

As a matter of fact, it was worth the fifty bucks.

Standard

Leave a Reply

