Uncategorized

Happy Father’s Day From Mad Man On A Great Lake.

I don’t entirely fall into the category of those who treat their pets as their children (Cat father?) but I gave up going to this Writer’s Group Meeting to take my feline to the vet for the first time since she was a kitten. She is 19 and all the little things that I kept an eye on came to a head this past week and it was just time. If a pet doesn’t eat and doesn’t behave like it usually does something has to be done. In fact, I swear, in her way she knew it too because she didn’t put up a fight like I feared when I put into that carrier. In fact, she was meowing a whole lot more when we left the place to go home and that’s when I knew she must be feeling better. The bill was more than buying a portable air conditioner but they did leave it up to me to agree to each treatment and she needed blood work done, antibotics, and special cans of Science Diet cat food which she has actually eaten a little bit of three times so far so I believe I did the right thing. She is not back to her normal self yet but is more so than she was Thursday.

Now Thursday, I went to the Ward 8 Democratic Club meeting after work but left a bit early to be home to call up the vet for possible openings. However, it was the last meeting for the summer, the new officers were being sworn in, and it was held at a special place. It was at the Cleveland Food Bank on Waterloo Rd. This was the first time that I was ever inside the place and I keep hearing about how wonderful the renovations were that the organization made to it since they built that other facility on Coit Rd. This place shows that there are still very positive things going on right now in this part of Cleveland.

Now, if we only had a new Development Corporation to help with all this that would be great.

Finally, you have to have your head in the sand to not know this is Father’s Day. Already, many cards, and ecards, have been sent across the country and many will have their fathers, or husbands and sons who have grown up with families of their own, over at their homes or out at restaurants for the day. Maybe the human resources at the place you work had one of those lame thank you snacks as they did for Mother’s Day. Many will stay inside or be at the pool since that heat dome is about to hit the North Coast tomorrow and be with us for a week. I’m sure Home Depot, Lowe’s and Menards had a uptick in business with their Father’s Day deals. Like all holidays, this one will come and go and the next one is just around the corner.

So, for all those that apply, Happy Father’s Day from Mad Man On A Great Lake.

Standard

One thought on “Happy Father’s Day From Mad Man On A Great Lake.

Leave a comment